Goodbye For Now

My friends… I am sad to say… I am leaving equine medicine 😢 I am hoping this is temporary. This was a really hard decision for me to make, but I think it is the right decision for me right now.

I love horses, they have been a huge part of my life for as long as I can remember. All I’ve ever wanted to do was work with horses for a living. But its time to be an adult, and suddenly earning a decent paycheck, and having employers who treat me well, has to take priority. Living in Denver is hard enough, its even harder when your full time job doesn’t pay enough and you need to pick up two part time jobs just to be able to live.

When did growing up mean disregarding our childhood dreams? Why is it that suddenly when we become an “adult”, we are willing to sacrifice our happiness just to try to make enough money to provide basic shelter and necessities? Is this really the cold truth of the society that we live in? Sadly, I’m afraid it is.

When did our priorities become so messed up? We are finally old enough to make our own happiness–something we’ve been waiting for since we were toddlers. And instead, we sacrifice those dreams because we have to. Because if we don’t, we won’t have a place to live, or food to eat, or clothes to wear. So we have to give up our childhood dreams because they wont make up any money. And how can we survive without those precious pieces of paper that we decorate into a form of currency?

It absolutely breaks my heart to have to leave my biggest passion. Not to say that I don’t love dogs and cats; I do. I just don’t have the same special childhood dream with them as I have always had with horses. I am hoping that this transition to small animal will ultimately lead me back to being able to fulfill my biggest childhood dream of owning my own ranch.

I’ve always had big dreams, its part of what keeps me working so hard to achieve them. For now, I need to just keep pushing forward towards those bigger dreams. Even though it may mean sacrificing a smaller dream to make those bigger dreams happen.

adult animal daylight girl
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

1 thought on “Goodbye For Now

  1. Sounds like a good move . . . the horses will still be there, when you’re ready for your ranch. I had to leave horses for a while, too, in my younger years, and returned full force. Stay well! The dogs and cats need you, too :)) Dawn

    (Just launched my new site, lovetohoof.com :)) Hope you check it out!

Leave a comment